1 John 3:18

25 Aug

Ghana201514

Started and ended our trip with broken buses – a typical African adventure. It’s hard to comprehend and apply what I experienced in Ghana to life in America. Overall, the “easy” application is to get out of my comfort zone to intentionally put myself in situations and relationships.

In Ghana every day was jam-packed with fun situations and people, but I LOVED being at the deaf school. If I go could back to Ghana and just work with my deaf friends, I would in a heart-beat. I love sign language and communicating with my friends through my hands. At the deaf school and at church I was amazed at their hospitality and generosity and love and care. For example, at the deaf school, the children would make me stand up and then clean my seat before I could sit down next to them and then when I stood up they were concerned that my dress was dirty. It was overwhelming knowing the privileged life I have.

Ryan shared how …
For our deaf friends action is their life. Being there and trying to sign was our action.
For Sylvia prayer is her life. Sharing prayer requests and praying for her was our action.

And when he said that it hit me hard. Its important to learn how people love and let them! I cant imagine life without Sylvia praying. Or how hurtful it would be to deny sharing my heart and prayer requests with her.

I love that the Bible shares a similar picture …
1 John 3:18 // Let us not love with words or speech, but with actions and in truth

I love serving the Lord with Ryan, whether in Lynden or overseas. We had an unique opportunity to go on two mission trips within our first year of marriage, one right after our honeymoon and the second right before our one year anniversary. We’ve also been youth group leaders and Sunday school teachers together. It’s been a crazy fun first year of marriage. I am so blessed to be married to a man who loves Jesus and is passionate about serving Him, me and others. I think we’ve both learned a lot this past year about life, marriage, each other, God, money, etc. We are now praying for what’s next.

“Of all the books in the world, some of the best stories are found between the pages of a passport” ❤

Leave a Reply

