our last full day

5 Jul

First of all, I apologize that most of the photos today are of my family and I. But can I just say it’s been such a blessing to have my whole family (husband, dad, mom, brothers) along on this trip. They’ve met all my friends who are so dear to me, visited the places I saw last time, etc. And we’ve also made new friends and memories together. I will treasure this trip in my heart forever.

Today was AWANA Sunday so almost the whole program was child led with flute players, dancing, reciting memory verses, etc. I took some great videos that I wish I could post. Nolan, Tore and Ethan shared their favorite verses and testimonies. Mom led us in some singing/ dancing like “head, shoulders, knees and toes”. Jeff spoke. Reghan led worship. We gave out gifts and lunch. We were at church from 9-3. Afterwards, we hugged, played games, exchanged information, giggled and said a lot of goodbyes.

We went back to our hotel and rested because it turns out that we couldn’t go to the boys home today :/ We had our last dinner with yam fu-fu and goat soap. Sadly, I stuck to French fries and fried rice because the spices mess with my tummy.

Tomorrow, we are visiting Angels elementary school and all of us will go see Sylvia one last time. We will drop Fidelis off that the airport, hang out and maybe go to another market in Accra before our flight. We will land in London Tuesday morning and have time to explore before the team (minus the Thomas family and Ryan & I) head back to America.

Pray for our flights and luggage. Pray for our transition back to America: mentally, physically, emotionally, spiritually, and for those who jump back into work and sports, jet lag. We are excited to share our stories with you!

I cant even begin to explain what I’ve learned, fell in love with, felt. But I can tell you the hospitality shown in this country is unreal, especially from the Mensah family. We are overwhelmed with love.

2 Responses to “our last full day”

  1. Edee Schulze July 5, 2015 at 8:47 pm #

    Lauren,

    It has been so fun to read about your time in Ghana. I’m glad you were able to go on this trip, particularly with your family. I’ve prayed for you whenever I have read your post and be delighted to keep up on what you been doing from a distance. I hope you travel safe Home and perhaps I will see you sometime soon in Lynden.

    Love Edee

Leave a Reply

