Healer

29 Jun

The theme of this past year for me has been healing. Its been a hard year physically with my colitis, emotionally from my experiences in Cambodia and an overwhelming year with transitions, such as graduate school.  But there has also been a lot of joys! And trust me, the pros and the joys most definitely outweigh the cons and the pain. I learned a lot about the character of God in regards to healing. He is the ultimate healer. Hmm, God is so good.

When it comes down to it, I just need to give it all (my tummy, my schooling, my life, my relationships, my experiences, all of it) to God. Trusting Him, easier said than done. But I’m doing it. He has a plan for me, my life and my heart. We leave for Ghana today and I am trusting Him with all the details. It’ll be amazing to see how God works through our team and our Ghanaian friends. Often you can see how God moves if you don’t trust his good and perfect plan.

Jeremiah 17:14 // Heal me, Oh Lord, and I shall be healed; save me, and I shall be saved, for you are my praise.

1 Peter 2:4 // By his wounds you have been healed.

Psalm 147:3 // He heals the brokenhearted and binds up their wounds.

Phillippians 4 // Rejoice in the Lord always; again I will say, rejoice. Let your reasonableness be known to everyone. The Lord is at hand; do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things. What you have learned and received and heard and seen in me—practice these things, and the God of peace will be with you.

I love this song by United Hillsong:

There is a light, it burns brighter than the sun
He steals the night and casts no shadow
There is hope, should oceans rise and mountains fall
He never fails

So take heart
Let His love lead us through the night
Hold on to hope
And take courage again

In death by love the fallen world was overcome
He wears the scars of our freedom
In His name all our fears are swept away
He never fails

So take heart
Let His love lead us through the night
Hold on to hope
And take courage again

All our troubles and all our tears
God, our hope, He has overcome
All our failure and all our fear
God, our love, He has overcome

All our heartache and all our pain
God, our healer, He has overcome
All our burdens and all our shame
God, our freedom, He has overcome

All our troubles and all our tears
God, our hope, He has overcome
All our failures and all our fear
God, our love, He has overcome

God, our justice, God, our grace
God, our freedom, He has overcome
God, our refuge, God, our strength
God is with us, He has overcome

 IMG_3648

2 Responses to “Healer”

  1. beverly knudsen June 29, 2015 at 9:40 am #

    Amen! I will be praying for you as you travel and interact with the Ghana team! May you each be the blessing and be blessed as HE has done for us!

    I am hoping to come by Church on my walk this morning to pray with you 😊

    Sent from my Windows Phone ________________________________

  2. Gerrit Kuiken July 3, 2015 at 2:58 am #

    Safe travel, good health and success to all the Ghana Team! God Bless! gk

Leave a Reply

