my heart for Ghana // second time around

11 May

a9dbc3dc7f47333d554a0c9e1cee8ba0As our trip to Ghana gets closer and closer our team is doing a lot to prepare:
-studying Nehemiah for our youth conference
-reading “For Women Only” and “For Men Only” to prepare for our marriage conference
-collecting supplies and donations to distribute
-weekly prayer meetings
-Ryan and I have been crafting & woodworking like crazy to continue our fundraising
-monthly team meetings
-Ryan and I are learning sign language at Whatcom Community college on Tuesday nights (which we LOVE love love)

Personally, I have been reflecting on a few questions:
why did i want to return?
why did i save my money? collect items throughout the year?
why is this important to me?
why has Ghana constantly been on my mind these last 2 years?
what is my goal while there?

My prayer is that God would help me communicate to the deaf individuals we meet! And to retain as many signs as possible from my ASL class. I am excited to see old friends, but wanting to connect with new ones as well. I know God is in control for this trip, knows all the details of the trip and the desires of our team. He will use my words as I lead a small group at the marriage conference, teach a lesson to the deaf school and as I share my testimony at the youth conference. I pray that the donations and supplies we bring will be exactly what Raymond and his church needs. Overall, I hope God’s glory reigns above all, that 1 Peter 4 will be our theme in Ghana.

1 Peter 4:7-11 // “Therefore be alert and of sober mind so that you may pray. Above all, love each other deeply, because love covers over a multitude of sins. Offer hospitality to one another without grumbling. Each of you should use whatever gift you have received to serve others, as faithful stewards of God’s grace in its various forms. If anyone speaks, they should do so as one who speaks the very words of God. If anyone serves, they should do so with the strength God provides, so that in all things God may be praised through Jesus Christ. To him be the glory and the power for ever and ever. Amen.”

Ephesians 2:10 //  For we are God’s handiwork, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.

And another plug: Ryan and I are constantly crafting to raise money for our trip. Check out our shop: https://www.etsy.com/shop/ThirstyAgain

IMG_6175IMG_4005

One Response to “my heart for Ghana // second time around”

  1. Betty-Lou May 12, 2015 at 11:30 am #

    I love your posts Lauren! Great crafts by you both! Blessings in learning sign language! Wish I knew it! Love Grandma Olson

Leave a Reply

