pen pals & prayer warriors

12 Jan

Why does that sound so old-fashioned? I wish it didn’t. Words are powerful as we all know looking at Phil Robertson. The power of prayer is unreal. Oh the hope and love from a handwritten letter. Imagine what we as Christ followers do with encouraging uplifting words. Hmmm. As I’m sitting in the airport waiting to leave for Guatemala I am thinking about all the prayer warriors and pen pals in my life. I don’t know what I would do without them, their support and their words. I always know, with full confidence, that they are praying for me, my trips, my future, my relationships.

I am surrounded my loving words, yet I let the littlest negative statement destroy my day. My heart is devastated but I know I can rely on my Lord, my family, my prayer warriors. Psalm 13 sums up my life // How long, Lord? How long must I wrestle with my thoughts and day after day have sorrow in my heart? …But I trust in your unfailing love; my heart rejoices in your salvation. I will sing the Lord’s praise, for he has been good to me.

Colossians 3:16-17 // let the words of Christ dwell in you richly as you teach and admonish one another with all wisdom, and as you sing psalms, hymns and spiritual songs with gratitude in your hearts to God. And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.

Philippians 4 // Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice! Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near. Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

Beautiful and hard reminders of our God’s love.

20140111-185207.jpg

Leave a Reply

