your life’s work is where the needs of the world and the joys of your heart intersect

21 Nov

Your life’s work is where the needs of the world and the joys of your heart intersect.

Such a wonderful, inspiring quote. And how I want to live my life.

BUT.

Where do I start? How do I accomplish this? What are the joys of my own heart? Where can this career track lead me? I am passionate about many needs in our world. I want to be a social worker. I want to work overseas. I want to be a cross-cultural sojourner. I want to be a foster mom and youth group leader to kids here in the U.S. I want to be more like Jesus. I want to create deep relationships. I want to empower women and children towards getting an education. I want to be a part of stopping poverty and injustices. I could go on and on.  Where do I start? What’s more important? Each story and person is so valuable. Welcome to my brain-head.

This morning I was cranky about not being able to sleep longer in my cozy bed, cranky that I needed to get up to take a hot shower, eat a full meal and go to classes. What was I thinking?! I am beyond lucky to have access to those things. Most of the world doesn’t have those opportunities and if they do they are heavily prosecuted for it, look at Malala’s story.

Ignorance is bliss. I know too much of the world’s horrors for me to complain about my lucky 1st world living. How easy it is for me to forget what I’ve seen and heard. How easy it is for me to forget my friends in Cambodia.  I am so angry at myself for forgetting what’s important and focusing on myself. Which I do day in and day out. More often than not, my walk isn’t following my talk. Sure the first steps are recognition and education. I know all these stories and facts. I share my knowledge with others. But they become pointless if I don’t act upon what I know. And I can to do something about it.

I pray daily for my heart to be broken like His. To be reminded of how blessed I am and how I can make a difference. I can do something. I should be doing something. I can use my education and career to do it. God can use me wherever I am, no matter what stage of life I am in. I can fight for justice in Washington, Minnesota, in India. I am still trying to figure out what direction I want my career to go. But I know my heart is geared towards loving others.

My life’s work is (will be) where the needs of the world and the joys of my heart intersect, no matter where I am.

Random I was thinking about all this today while I was driving home from Maple Grove and listen to what came on the radio. God’s perfect timing 🙂

One Response to “your life’s work is where the needs of the world and the joys of your heart intersect”

  1. Abby March 11, 2014 at 7:25 pm #

    So beautiful!

Leave a Reply

