Guatemala, round two

14 Oct

In high school, our youth group went to Solola, Guatemala to partner with Eagle’s Nest Orphanage, an organization our church has supported for years. In fact, two boys from our church were adopted from there. I loved my week in Guatemala, playing soccer, attempting to speak the little Spanish I knew, cuddling with the babies. I was not ready to leave after our time was up. I fell in love with the people, food and culture. Besides, early morning walks with my leaders through town, my favorite part was getting to know Jose, a young boy from the village.

jose

Jose’s laugh and joy was contagious. He helped me with my broken Spanish, as well as laughed with me at my mistakes. He taught me how to communicate and have fun through language barriers. We spent our time together, giggling, dancing, playing volleyball. I have never forgotten about Jose, in fact I pray for him often. I am so curious about how he is doing. Therefore, I am excited about the chance to go back and see him, as well as continue in our church’s relationship with Eagle’s Nest. Our church desires to help their ministry continue to expand their ability to handle more kids so they can continue to present the Gospel in many different ways. Members of our church are traveling to Guatemala this January, 11th-201th.

This January our goal is to complete any projects needed, which will most likely be working on the transitional home building as well as new school features. Of course, we will be helping the ladies within the orphanage with the children and other daily chores. This is the first year that we will take a trip to the Guatemala City Dump and see where over 100,000 people live and in what conditions. As I am in the process of fundraising I am in great need of your prayers: for the village of Solala, Eagle’s Nest staff, their impact on the communities surrounding the orphanage, the children to feel the Father’s love, and our team.

If you would like to send a note of encouragement or support:
Lauren Olson
Bethel University #1659
3900 Bethel Drive
St. Paul, MN 55112

Thank you!

One Response to “Guatemala, round two”

  1. beverly knudsen October 14, 2013 at 8:35 pm #

    Wow! I know that going to the garbage dump would be very hard in so many ways for me personally. I will pray for you and the team that HE will prepare you all to be the hands and feet of Jesus at the orphanage as well as the garbage dump. May He supply your financial needs as well as physical and emotional.

    Your sister in Christ, Bev

Leave a Reply

