psalm 112

25 Sep

Praise the Lord – verse 1 // Yes Lord, You are beyond worthy of my praise. of my time. of my thoughts. of my worship. of my words. of my relationships. Your name is holy and awesome (Psalm 111:9). Forever I will uplift your great name.

Blessed are those who fear the Lord, who find great delight in his commands // I trust you. I trust You as my Father and provider. You know the big picture (Jeremiah 29:11). You know what’s best for me. Hence why You created the 10 commandments. Mentors throughout the Bible. Jesus’s life and example (Philippians 2).

Their children will be mighty in the land; the generation of upright will be blessed – verse 2 // I want to live a life that points to Christ, so that He will be evident to those around me encouraging them to want to talk about Your goodness, for generations to come. (Psalms 78:4-8). I see that in my own life through my grandparents, parents and mentors (Psalm 61:5).

Wealth and riches are in their house and their righteousness endures forever – verse 3 //  Heaven is my home, it is my eternity. I want to invest fully into heaven, I want to see those around me in heaven (Matthew 6:19-21). “I’ll cling to my salvation. Though riches come and riches go, Don’t set your heart upon them; The fields of hope in which I sow are harvested in heaven” (Psalm 62 by Aaron Keys).

Even in darkness light dawns for the upright, for those who are gracious and compassionate and righteous – verse 4 // Let my light shine for You. Let those around me see that light shining brightly. And be encouraged to seek You. Even in our broken world, full of injustice, pain and hurt. I pray they will see You. (Matthew 5:16). As Christians we are always witnessing, intentionally or not, through our words and deeds. Let my witness be purely You.

Good will come to those who are generous and lend freely, who conducts their affairs with justice – verse 5 // Lord, I am a steward here on earth with my time, resources and money. Guide me to use those solely and sincerely for Your purpose. I want to be a cheerful giver (2 Corinthians 9:7-9). Let my prayer be similar to King David’s (1 Chronicles 29)

Surely the righteous will never be shaken; they will be remembered forever- verse 6 // I want my heart to be so deeply in Yours that there is no room to be shaken (Psalm 62:1-5, Hebrews 12:28, Isaiah 54:10). Lord, You alone will be remembered forever, Your legacy and fingerprints are everywhere. Bible is a best-seller. Just look at nature. Actions of Your Son.

They will have no fear of bad news; their hearts are steadfast trusting in the Lord – verse 7 // Can you imagine if I was so deeply rooted in You that when trials came my way I just leaned into Your love and faithfulness. If I trusted You 110%, my priorities would greatly change- my worries would be outwardly focused. “When my heart is overwhelmed and I cannot hear Your voice. I’ll hold on to what is true thought I cannot see…”  (Love Came Down by Brian Johnson).

Their hearts are secure; they will have no fear – verse 8
// Here on earth we search endlessly for our self-worth. our identity. our security. We will that void in our selves with goals, friends, materials. No no, all we need is You. Only You are our total satisfaction, identity and security. “In Your presence, I am completely satisfied” (Divine Romance by Phil Wickham).

in the end he will look in triumph on his foes // “His faith will not fail, nor shrink, nor change, while one by one his enemies are brought to the knowledge of the truth and the love of Christ, and he shall see his heart’s desire fulfilled upon them, even that they may be saved” (Plain Commentary). Or, until he looks upon his oppressors; that is, till he behold them securely, and, as we say, confidently looks in their faces; as being now no longer under their power, but being freed from their tyranny and oppression” (Thomas Fenton Commentary).

They has scattered their gifts abroad to the poor, their righteousness endures forever; their horn will be lifted high in honor. The wicked will see and be vexed, they will gnash their teeth and waste away; the longings of the wicked will come to nothing.– verse 9 and 10 // Those without Christ will just perish with no joy, only temporary happiness. That breaks my heart.  

Verses I referenced above:

Psalm 111:9// He provided redemption for his people;  he ordained his covenant forever— holy and awesome is his name.

Jeremiah 29:11 // For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

Philippians 2 // Imitating Christ’s Humility

Psalm 78:4-8 // We will not hide them from their descendants; we will tell the next generation the praiseworthy deeds of the Lord, his power, and the wonders he has done. He decreed statutes for Jacob and established the law in Israel, which he commanded our ancestors to teach their children, so the next generation would know them, even the children yet to be born, and they in turn would tell their children. Then they would put their trust in God and would not forget his deeds but would keep his commands. They would not be like their ancestors—a stubborn and rebellious generation, whose hearts were not loyal to God, whose spirits were not faithful to him.

Psalm 61:5 // For you, God, have heard my vows; you have given me the heritage of those who fear your name.

Matthew 6:19-21 // Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moths and vermin destroy, and where thieves break in and steal. But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moths and vermin do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal.  For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.

Matthew 5:16 // In the same way, let your light shine before others, so that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.

2 Corinthians 9:7-9 // Each of you should give what you have decided in your heart to give, not reluctantly or under compulsion, for God loves a cheerful giver. And God is able to bless you abundantly, so that in all things at all times, having all that you need, you will abound in every good work.

1 Chronicles 29: 9- 16 // The people rejoiced at the willing response of their leaders, for they had given freely and wholeheartedly to the Lord. David the king also rejoiced greatly. David praised the Lord in the presence of the whole assembly, saying, “Praise be to you, Lord, the God of our father Israel, from everlasting to everlasting. Yours, Lord, is the greatness and the power and the glory and the majesty and the splendor, for everything in heaven and earth is yours. Yours, Lord, is the kingdom; you are exalted as head over all. Wealth and honor come from you; you are the ruler of all things. In your hands are strength and power to exalt and give strength to all. Now, our God, we give you thanks, and praise your glorious name. “But who am I, and who are my people, that we should be able to give as generously as this? Everything comes from you, and we have given you only what comes from your hand. We are foreigners and strangers in your sight, as were all our ancestors. Our days on earth are like a shadow, without hope…”

Psalm 62:1-2 // Truly my soul finds rest in God; my salvation comes from him. Truly he is my rock and my salvation; he is my fortress, I will never be shaken.

Hebrews 12:28- 29 // Therefore, since we are receiving a kingdom that cannot be shaken, let us be thankful, and so worship God acceptably with reverence and awe, for our “God is a consuming fire.”

Isaiah 54:10 // Though the mountains be shaken and the hills be removed, yet my unfailing love for you will not be shaken nor my covenant of peace be removed,” says the Lord, who has compassion on you.

Leave a Reply

