wedding planning and oppression?

9 Sep

Wedding planning is not nearly as fun when I read about oppression because of weddings in my textbook– “diamond mine workers in Africa, honeymoon resorts workers (forced labor), sweatshops in Asia where wedding dresses are made…” 😦 Beautiful weddings often occur due to the exploitation and oppression of our friends around the world. Ignorance is bliss? If I truly wanna fight oppression, I need to be aware and apply justice to every aspect of my life, even wedding planning. Something I’ve never even thought about….. oppression and weddings. Geez, where else is oppression in my life? The wheels in my brain head are now turning like crazy…

Contemporary Sociological Theory and its Classical Roots, George Ritzer and Jeffrey Stepnisky

Leave a Reply

