25 Jul

On one of the last days in Ghana, Corey shared that he can’t wait for heaven because the deaf will have voices to sing and praise God, the orphans will have fathers and Sylvia will be dancing for joy. I have thought about that every day since, usually in tears. What a beautiful reminder of God’s goodness, mercy and love. In heaven I will be sinless. In heaven the poor will be rich. The sick will be healthy. And everyone will be praising God. I cant wait. Reminds me of this new song: boys will be kings.

I am so grateful for my experiences in Africa, the encouragement of my church in Ghana and the support of my home church. For their hugs and prayers. Daily I think of how lucky I am to have churches and families around the world. I definitely think that’s how God intended it to be. Worldwide connections and love.

Once again I am frustrated with America. We are so blessed with money, schools, churches, opportunities. And yet we complain and don’t thank God for what we have. We don’t share with those who actually need what we carelessly throw out. We have brothers and sisters around the world with simple barriers (well simple to us… huge to them) to get to school. We have brothers and sisters who can’t worship freely and are constantly persecuted for their faith. We have brothers and sisters who are hungry and sick. And yet we complain about our lives full of wealth and freedom.

I blog my thoughts not to make people feel guilty, but to inspire people to share. Mom always said “sharing is caring”, right? It really wouldn’t even be a sacrifice to give, considering how much we have and how little most of the world has. I want to give hope to my brothers and sisters around the world, humble myself and thank God… because “its impossible to remember God and forget the poor” (Beth Moore, James, p. 54).

How cool would it be if you were SO overflowing thankfulness that you shared? Read Colossians 2:6-7 // So then, just as you received Christ Jesus as Lord, continue to live your lives in him,  rooted and built up in him, strengthened in the faith as you were taught, and overflowing with thankfulness.

Leave a Reply

