preparing my heart as i pray and pack.

24 Jun

In just a few days, I leave for Africa. Did I pack everything I need? Who knows. I am excited for this dream to come true. I am afraid that I will lose my heart to this country. I am pumped to serve the Lord and see how he will use me. I am nervous about how travels, going through customs and losing our suitcases full of gifts. I am filled with joy with the thought of hanging out with the beautiful people we will meet. I am nervous that painful memories from Cambodia will re-surface affecting my presence in Ghana.  Over this past year my heart and mind have been flooded with shocking and heart-wrenching stories.  I have literally become numb to testimonies of pain and suffering. I have been praying for God to soften and open my heart again. I am praying for God to use my experiences and my desire for justice and compassion. I pray that I will be able to truly love the people of Ghana.  “Statistics… are critical to our understanding of the extent and urgency of the plight of the world’s children, [yet they] also begin to obscure the humanity, the dignity, and the worth of each of those children. It takes away their names and stories, homogenizes their personalities, and cheapens the value of each individual child, created in the very image of God.” (Hole in the Gospel, p. 115). Most of all, I don’t want to become numb to the individuals I meet. I want to remember their faces, names and stories. I want to remember their laughs and joys. I don’t want to lump all my experiences overseas together. I want to fully serve without doubts or distractions while I am in Ghana. I am not sure what I will see in Ghana: joy, pain, injustice, justice compared to Cambodia. My main purpose is to seek the Lord always as I serve and create relationships in Ghana.

I so deeply wish I would have read this anonymous quote before I went to Cambodia.

“Sometimes I would like to ask God why He allows poverty, suffering, and injustice when He could do something about it.”

“Well, why don’t you ask Him?”

“Because I’m afraid He would ask me the same question.”

GHANA UPDATES:  For the next two weeks I will be updating about our trip through this blog and our Facebook page. Please share these two resources with those interested on staying updated on our trip. Daily pray for our safety and effectiveness, as well as our hearts. Pray that we seek God through the difficulties and joys of this amazing opportunity.

Leave a Reply

