post cambodia // wasted time and money

9 Feb

I had no idea what to expect for my transition back to the States. But now I know. The questions I get asked. How many ‘well-intentioned yet naïve’ people I met. How quickly I get frustrated. My sleeping patterns. The way American greasy food affects my ‘Cambodian rice and curry’ tummy. It’s crazy what I notice and get frustrated with, things I used to enjoy. Money and time I used to waste on meaningless, unimportant, and non-life changing things. I can hardly sit still without thinking about the millions of people around the world who are frightened, unable to cry out for help. I feel so worthless and hypocritical to experience and be educated on injustices and God’s heart, just to come back to sit on my butt in the States. I am praying, struggling, researching what I can do here with this newly acquired knowledge. I keep thinking about the verse- for where your treasure is (my time, money, energy), there your heart will also be. How am I gonna change my life? What are my priorities? Am I going to live a life of comfort or am I willing to truly and radically change my life, pick up my cross and follow Jesus.

In a couple of months I leave for Africa. As I process and reflect on Cambodia, I am also preparing and raising support for Ghana. I am so curious about how my experiences will affect my trip to Ghana? How can I prepare myself?

I am SO excited to teach and hang out with God’s beautiful people in Ghana. But once again I need your support especially in prayer as our team prepares, learns basic sign language, get educated on cultural expectations, raises financial support, travels halfway across the world, and learns more about God’s heart.

support for ghana

Matthew 6:21 // For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also..

Mark 8:34-37 // Then Jesus called the crowd to him along with his disciples and said: “Whoever wants to be my disciple must deny themselves and take up their cross and follow me. For whoever wants to save their life will lose it, but whoever loses their life for me and for the gospel will save it. What good is it for someone to gain the whole world, yet forfeit their soul? Or what can anyone give in exchange for their soul?

Leave a Reply

