psalm 13

12 Jan

These last few days have been rough and heavy. I feel like I have lost so much hope and trust in everything I believed in: the world, leaders, America, United Nations, etc. I am so angry and frustrated with the injustices, secrets and complexity of situations, but I have no idea where to direct my anger. Hope seems so far from this situation in Cambodia and this world we live in. But daily I get gentle reminders that God is a good God. I am learning a lot about him and his view of justice. I am being retold to trust him so very much, with my future and the future of others. I need to trust that in this seemingly hopeless world without truth or goodness, God is hope, truth and goodness. I need to lean into him, not the world.

I have been reading through Psalms during my time in Cambodia and it amazes me how relevant these verses are in my life right this very moment.

Psalm 13 // how long must I wrestle with my thoughts? And every day have sorrow in my heart?… but I will trust in your unfailing love

Psalms 18 // he is my support, my rock, my rescuer from things that overwhelm me

I know that God is good and his promise of return is truth. Yet I (we as the body of Christ) cannot patiently wait for that day when he renews all things here on this earth. I need to be proactive. I need to answer the call (Isaiah 6:8). I need to be what God created me to be: his vessel. I need to trust his perfect plan.  I need to run into this dark unjust world with open arms bringing hope, love and truth. Being a light, an advocate, a neighbor, all in Christ’s name.

3 Responses to “psalm 13”

  1. Dad January 12, 2013 at 5:28 pm #

    “Run to the Battle” Jeremy Camp Dad

  2. Curtis Atneosen January 14, 2013 at 5:24 pm #

    GMA and GPA are following you in prayer… gma wanted me to share this quote from Luther…

    This, then, is how you should pray: “Our Father in heaven, hallowed be your name.” Matthew 6:9

    How should we address God? How should we honor the one we pray to? And how should we present ourselves so that he will be gracious and willing to listen to us? No name anywhere makes a more favorable impression on God than the name “Father.” Calling him Father is a friendly, affectionate, deep, and heartfelt way to address him. It wouldn’t comfort us nearly so much if we were to call him Lord, or God, or Judge. For the name Father is instinctive and naturally affectionate. That is why hearing us call him Father pleases God the most and moves him to listen to us. By doing so, we acknowledge ourselves as children of God, which again stirs God’s heart. For there is no voice more dear to a father than his own child’s voice.

    It also helps when we say, “in heaven.” These words express distressing need and misery because we are on earth and God is in heaven. Those who pray, “Our Father in heaven,” and do so out of the depths of their hearts, acknowledge that they have a Father and that their Father is in heaven. Moreover, they acknowledge that they are abandoned on earth and are in misery. Those who pray this way soon feel a heartfelt yearning, like a child who lives far from his father’s land in misery and distress among strangers. It’s as if they are saying, “O Father, you are in heaven. I am your poor child far from you on earth, in misery, in peril, in distress, and in need. I am surrounded by devils, great enemies, and many kinds of danger.” Those who pray in this way stand with pure, uplifted hearts toward God. They are able to pray and move God to mercy. January 12

    Luther, Martin; Galvin, James C. (2009-05-26). Faith Alone: A Daily Devotional (p. 12). Zondervan. Kindle Edition.

  3. Kathy Atneosen January 14, 2013 at 5:58 pm #

    From GMA… My prayer for you is that in your heart you can find the compass that points to true North-Jesus. There you will see your mission in Christ.

Leave a Reply

