remember

2 Jan

Tomorrow. Tomorrow I leave home. Tomorrow I meet my roommates and the rest of the group going to Cambodia. Together, Friday morning we leave for Cambodia. As I pack, clean, repack, say goodbye and repack, my heart and brain are racing with emotions and thoughts. I am so blessed and excited for this opportunity to go overseas for a month to learn more about God’s heart and view of justice. I am excited for the new experiences awaiting me, smells, food, sights, culture, language. I am excited to create relationships. As excited as I am, all those things also make me nervous. What does God have in store for me to learn? Can my heart handle what I am about to witness and hear? Will these relationships cause me more pain than joy? Will I get sick? Will I get lost? What if my camera breaks? Did I pack the right things? Can you tell I am struggling with packing….?

IMG_0102

I slow down my thoughts and with a heart overflowing with thankfulness I remember. Remember God’s faithful and passionate love. Remember how blessed I am. Remember my family: immediate, extended and church that is supporting me. Remember the prayers that are constantly being said for me. Remember the standard I set for myself as a Christian, as a student, as a girl passionate about the world and God’s beautiful creation. Remember to go into all situations being flexible with an open heart, open hands, open eyes, open mind. Remember to seek joy and show love. Remember Jesus’ example. Remember how he humbly, willingly came to serve, not to be served. And yes Mom I will remember to be street smart and stay with a buddy always.

Hopefully, I will have time in the next month to share my experiences with you on a weekly basis through photos and words. But honestly I’d rather spend my month soaking it all in (especially the sun rays). But either way I will absorb, jot down, embrace everything. Eventually I will have time to share it with you, but only if you promise to remember. Remember God’s ever faithful and wonderful promises to unconditionally love you, your family, your worst enemy. Remember the big picture, trust his good plan. Remember that he knows you so well, every little quirk.  Remember that he will never give up on you. Most importantly, remember this next month to pray and worry for me 😉

Psalm 82:3-4 // Give justice to the poor and the orphan; uphold the rights of the oppressed and the destitute. Rescue the poor and helpless; deliver them from the grasp of evil people.

Isaiah 1:17 // Learn to do good. Seek justice. Help the oppressed. Defend the cause of orphans. Fight for the rights of widows.

Mark 10:45 // For even the Son of Man did not come to be served, but to serve, and to give his life as a ransom for many.

Psalm 55:22  // Pile your troubles on God’s shoulders, he will carry your load, he will help you out. He will never let good people topple into ruin

Psalm 139:16 // You are a child of the Most High God and he loves you. He has a plan and purpose for your life that he planned even before you ever existed.

Joshua 1 // Be strong and courageous. Don’t be afraid or discouraged for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go. He will never leave you.

2 Responses to “remember”

  1. Grandma & Grandpa Olson January 3, 2013 at 12:47 am #

    Our thoughts & prayers are with you Lauren. We pray for a safe trip, a healthy trip, led and inspired by the Holy spirit. Your writings are such an inspiration and a blessing to us! thanks for sharing yourself and your thoughts! We are looking forward to hearing all about your activities!
    TAKE CARE, Much Much Love Ge. & Gr. Olson

  2. Lauren Allie-Atneosen January 4, 2013 at 5:07 am #

    We love you Lauren and are so proud of you! Praying for health and safety and that you will have a wonderful time meeting people and making memories. God is using you and it is so exciting to see how you have been anxious to let Him!

    Josh. 1:9 (NIV) Have I not commanded you? Be strong and
    courageous. Do not be terrified; do not be discouraged, for the LORD your
    God will be with you wherever you go.”

    “My soul, wait silently for God alone,
    For my expectation is from Him.
    He only is my rock and my salvation;
    He is my defense; I shall not be moved.” Psalm 62:5-6

    “Fear not, for I am with you;
    Be not dismayed, for I am your God.
    I will strengthen you, yes, I will help you,
    I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.’” Isaiah 41:10

    Much Love to You,
    Lauren and Keith

Leave a Reply

