Vivianna

17 Oct

I have been thinking a lot about my trips: Cambodia and Ghana.
I have been praying for my team, the people I will meet and myself.
For open hearts and hands, willing to serve in every way possible.

I began thinking of why EXACTLY I want to go across the world.  A relative of mine was a missionary overseas in Asia. She was my pen pal. I wanted to be just like her when I grew up. She bought me presents back from the countries she was in. I still have them to this day, because our relationship meant so much to me.

My main inspiration for wanting to go to all nations and share Christ’s love was Vivianna Dunster. Vivianna was a lady from our home church.  She was such an amazing role model and prayer warrior. Meagan and I spent a lot of afternoons at Vivianna’s house. She gave us little trinkets, songs, verses, poems, books, photos and journals. Because of my friendship with Vivianna I have a passion for India. I read so many books and watched movies about India. It is my goal to eventually go to India and see Vivianna’s work there.  Things I still treasure to this day. Vivianna shared more than just stories about her life and India, but about her relationship with God. The last time I hung out with Vivianna was in high school, before I left for college. Vivianna couldn’t stop talking about how excited she was to go to heaven and ditch her earthly body. I distinctly remember her saying how pumped she was to get up there and start dancing with Jesus.

Now Vivianna is up in heaven dancing away, worshipping the Lord. That is exactly how I want to live my life, like Vivianna.
I want to be constantly sharing about the Lord, in my everyday life, overseas or here in America.
I want to be overjoyed at the chance to go to heaven and dance with Jesus.
I want to live like Jesus, by being his hands and feet, by following Vivianna’s example.

Matthew 28:17-20// When they saw him, they worshiped him; but some doubted. Then Jesus came to them and said, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me. Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.”

Radical by David Platt (pg. 93) // Jesus has not given us an effortless step-by-step formula for impacting nations for his glory. He has given us people, and he said, ‘Live for them. Love them, serve them, and lead them. Lead them to follow me, and lead them to lead others to follow me. In the process you will multiply the gospel to the ends of the earth.

One Response to “Vivianna”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. my africa story | laurenolson - June 19, 2013

    […] discuss countries we wanted to go serve in, read countless books and spent afternoons talking with Vivianna. This began my Africa story. As we grew up, our dreams as missionaries seemed to disappear to the […]

Leave a Reply

